The Old Greenwood School, Village of Greenwood
The Old Greenwood School was built in 1859 by subscription, that is when the community pooled their
resources to build the school. The building is constructed of yellow Milwaukee brick and possesses classic
Greek Revival period features such as cornice returns, a front door surround, and stone lintels. The interior
still possesses the original wainscoting and a single front door has since replaced the old double doors. The
pair can be found mounted on the basement wall.
The second story was used for the high school class while the lower room was the â€œgraded schoolâ€. For a
short period of time, church services were also held there. The building served as the communityâ€™s school until
1948 when it was sold at auction. It is currently a private residence.
The Allendale Truss Bridge (Landmark Lost
This venerable structure was demolished and removed in 2009 as part of a
local road improvement project. Its Landmark status is "retired". The Allendale Steel Truss Bridge was
unique in the fact that it was one of the few remaining steel truss bridges left in McHenry County. It had
been replaced several times throughout its history. The first bridge built of wood in 1846 was
replaced by one of steel and concrete in 1915. In its place is a modern concrete bridge which will serve
Allendale road for many decades to come. Greenwood was isolated for nearly a year when twelve bridges
across the county, including the Allendale Bridge, washed out following the severe flooding of 1938. A new
bridge with steel trusses was constructed in 1939 for a cost of just over $10,000. Warren trusses are
easily recognized by their triangular outline.